Proudly brought to you by BMW

Like us on Facebook

Welcome to the South African Polo Association

The South African Polo Association (SAPA) is the official administrative controlling body of polo in South Africa. All clubs affiliate through their provincial bodies to SAPA which, in turn, affiliates to Hurlingham Polo Association (UK) and Federacion Internationale de Polo (Argentina)... More

Feb 21 2017

February Newsletter

SAEF DEVELOPMENTS: The SAEF have installed an online registration system where they require all athletes to register online. This is to cover their membership fee in addition to the athlete’s... More

Dec 05 2016

November Newsletter

SAEF DEVELOPMENTS: I wish I could report otherwise but the SAEF saga continues with much dissatisfaction between the SAEF and some disciplines leading to the suspension of certain individuals... More

Sep 13 2016

BMW International Polo Test at Waterfall

The South African Polo Team beat the Uruguayan Polo Team by 7 goals to 5 at Sunday's BMW International Polo Series at Waterfall Polo Estate! Well done to both teams and a big congratulations to... More

Sep 07 2016

BMW International Polo Test at Shongweni

The South African Polo Team pulled off a last minute victory of 9 goals to 8 against the Uruguayans at the 2016 BMW International Polo Test at Shongweni on Sunday 4 Septmeber. The second and final... More

April 2017

02 Apr -
SA Open in Plett
21 Apr -
ISPS Handa Art of Polo Cup - Exhibition Match at Val de Vie
28 Apr - 30 Apr
Val de Vie Club Champs
28 Apr - 30 Apr
East Griqualand Champs at Kokstad
28 Apr - 30 Apr
Free State Champs at Harrismith

May 2017

05 May - 07 May
05 May - 07 May
Gold Cup - Inanda 6 Goal
12 May - 14 May
Natal Champs at Karkloof
19 May - 21 May
Highveld Champs at East Rand
19 May - 21 May
26 May - 28 May
SA Champs at East Rand

June 2017

02 Jun - 04 Jun
Development Cup at Inanda
09 Jun - 10 Jun
Pony Lenders Tournament at Karkloof
11 Jun -
Shongweni International
16 Jun - 18 Jun
30 Jun - 02 Jul
Karkloof Classic

Plettenberg Bay International 2016


The Plettenberg Bay International took place on the 29th December on the Pavilion field, Kurland. The weather was cool and dry making ideal conditions for polo. The day commenced with two development teams competing in the curtain raiser match followed by some young enthusiasts playing a bicycle polo match. The South African team that played in the international against England consisted of the following:

  1. Chris Lund (1)
  2. James Crowe (2)
  3. Chris MacKenzie (6)
  4. Tom de Bruin (7)  ©

Reserves were Dirk van Reenen (5) and Nick Sherring (2).

Team UK were represented by the following:

  1. Max Kirschoff (0)
  2. Max Charlton (7)  ©
  3. George Merryk (6)
  4. David Ashby (3)

The match started at a furious pace – something that continued for the entire game. South Africa opened the scoring with a field goal from MacKenzie only for England to equalize a few minutes later. This pattern continued for most of the match with neither side being able to get more than a goal ahead. Only during the fifth period did South Africa manage a three-goal lead only to squander this with some unnecessary fouls. The sixth was exciting and looked as if it could go to a sudden death chukka but South Africa stood firm and finally ran out winners by 11 goals to 10.

For South Africa, the two “rookies” Chris Lund and James Crowe played exceptionally well and at no stage seemed overawed by the “big” occasion. Chris MacKenzie had an outstanding game and was rewarded with being judged “Man of the Match”. Best playing pony went to Shaun Brokensha’s “Julia” played by George Merryk.

The South African Polo Association would like to thank the Plett Polo Committee for their meticulous event organization. The day was a huge success and a great advert for polo. Our thanks also to those players who generously loaned ponies to the English team.

BMW International Polo Series 2016

Sunday 4 September 2016

Curtain Raiser: SA Schools beat SA Development: 4 - 2

SA Schools
1. James O'Sullivan (0)
2. Johann van Reenen (0)
3. James Crowe (2) ©
4. Ross Williamson (0)
Reserve: Grant Louw (0)

SA Development
1. William Crowe (0)
2. Jabulane Khanyile (2)
3. Pah Mokwena (2) ©
4. Grant Louw (0)
Reserve: Zandise Gushu (0)

MVP: Jabulane Khanyile

Test: South Africa beat Uruguay: 9 - 8

South Africa
1. Davey Evans (5)
2. John Eustace (5)
3. Gareth Evans (6)
4. Tom de Bruin (7) ©
Reserve: Mike Osborn (4)

1. Mauricio Sánchez (5)
2. Santiago Stirling (5) ©
3. Pablo Fernandez LLorente (6)
4. Martin Tassara (6)
Reserve: Aparicio Oddo (4)

MVP: Gareth Evans          
Best Pony: Velvetino owned by Walter Grindrod and ridden by Pablo Fernandez LLorente

Sunday 11 September 2016

Curtain Raiser: Poloafrica Matrics beat SA Development : 9 - 2

1. Molefi Ralebenya (-1)
2. Mosaku Lephatsi (-1)
3. Thapelo Mothijoa (0) ©
4. Montoeli Ntoeleng (0)
Reserve: Tumelo Molapo (-2)

SA Development
1. Annie Iqbal (-2)
2. Lucky Matshaya (-1)
3. Nanthi Shabalala (2)
4. Jabulane Magagula (0) ©
Reserve: Tebello Mokoroane (-2)

MVP: Montoeli Ntoeleng

Test: South Africa beat Uruguay: 7 - 5

South Africa
1. Davey Evans (5)
2. John Eustace (5)
3. Gareth Evans (6)
4. Tom de Bruin (7) ©
Reserve: Mike Osborn (4)

1. Mauricio Sánchez (5)
2. Santiago Stirling (5) ©
3. Pablo Fernandez LLorente (6)
4. Martin Tassara (6)
Reserve: Aparicio Oddo (4)

MVP: Tom de Bruin           
Best Pony: Castanetta owned by Warren Lurie and ridden by Martin Tassara

Prince of Wales Cup 2016

The Prince of Wales Cup

East Griqualand


Siphenga Mandlenkhosi

Phox Borrowdale

Mike Osborn

Tom de Bruin




Matthew Thake

Dane Csaszar

Davey Evans

Gareth Evans

Most Valuable Player of the Tournament: Terence Spilsbury
Best Playing Pony: “Celtic” Tom de Bruin

SA National Team for the BMW International Polo Series 2016:

  1. Davey Evans
  2. John Eustace
  3. Gareth Evans
  4. Tom de Bruin ©

Reserve: Mike Osborn



SA Champs 2016

A Section


Championship - Beresford Cup

Johan van Reenen

Gary Spilsbury

Davey Evans

Terence Spilsbury

A Section


Handicap - Bartholomai Trophy

Jossie Spilsbury

James Crowe

Travis Timm

Tom de Bruin

B Section


Championship - Solid Silver Bowl

Jonathan Louw

James Hackland

Sean O’Sullivan

Charles Holley

B Section


Handicap - Tim Mackenzie Cup

Amy Gace

Andrew Fyvie

Brad Gace

Angus Williamson

C Section


Championship - SA Polo Association Trophy

Gerrit Stevens

Rob Hampson

Murray Hampson

Quinton Wheeler

C Section


Handicap - Nottingham Road Trophy

William Crowe

Andrew Gilson

Grant Louw

Martin Watson

D Section


Championship - Cedric Solomon Trophy

Keyan Gace

Charlotte Pykett

Kate Holmes

Sam Sibiya

D Section



Kathy Romer-Lee

Jossie Spilsbury

Caroline Bruce

Jo Spilsbury

Man-Of-The-Tournament: Davey Evans
Best Playing Pony Award - A Section: ‘Amarula ‘owned by Gareth Evans
Angus Chaplin Memorial Trophy “For the love of a horse”: Eugene, Leslie & Tom de Bruin
The Sir Duncan McKenzie Award: Not awarded in 2016


Polo by the Number

Our Sponsors

BMW South Africa